Silvermine spotlights its new members

Silvermine Arts Center in New Canaan is set to unveil an exhibition devoted to the work of its new members.

Silvermine Arts Center will start 2019 with a “New Members Exhibition.”

The New Canaan center will feature more than 40 new artists who have been juried into its nearly 100-year-old Silvermine Guild in 2018.

The exhibition, representing a wide range of artistic disciplines, will kick off with an opening reception from 2 to 4 p.m. Jan. 13 and continue through Feb. 6.

“This exhibition showcases Silvermine’s newest members’ exploration of materials, arresting captures of nature’s forms and patterns, vibrant use of color and light and singular reimaginings of the figure in sculptural and painted form,” Roger Mudre, gallery director at Silvermine, said in materials advancing the show. “We’re delighted to welcome such a strong new group to the Guild.”

Silvermine shares that, “Criteria for members of the Silvermine Guild of The Artists include excellence of technique; cultural or social relevance; clarity and continuity of style; and professional accomplishment. These artists have exhibited their work regionally or nationally. They join a distinguished group of professional artists comprised of over 300 members who work in a wide array of media and are represented in prestigious museums and private and corporate collections.”

The Westchester-Fairfield artists that are now Guild members are Mark Andreas of Stamford; Debra Bilow of South Salem; Nancy Breakstone of Westport; Tracy Burroughs of Redding; Alexander Churchill of Norwalk; Pam Davis of Rowayton; Elysa DeMartini of Stamford; Laure Dunne of Norwalk; Hans Fischer of Ridgefield; Nathaniel Galka of Mount Kisco; Miranda Girard of Trumbull; Niki Ketchman of Westport; Audrey Klotz of Weston; Ron Lake of Westport; Liz Leggett of Westport; Susan Leggitt of Norwalk; Cynthia Mullins of Ridgefield; Jill Parry of Mamaroneck; Justin Perlman of Bethel; Penny Putnam of Greenwich; Jon Puzzuoli of Norwalk; Jennifer O’Connell Reid of Wilton; Rosalind Shaffer of Weston; Vicki French Smith of Darien; Sofie Swann of Stamford; Mary Tooley Parker of Yorktown Heights; and James Von Klemper of Darien.

For more, visit

– Mary Shustack

Written By
More from Staff
Botanical celebrates Monet’s floral works By Georgette Gouveia He was, of course,...
Read More
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *